.INFO was the first generic, unrestricted TLD to be launched since .COM and is the largest new TLD launched in over 25 years. .INFO was first became available to public registrations in 2001. Since then, .INFO has grown to become the fourth largest gTLD in the world with over 6 million domain names registered.

The .INFO Awards were first launched in 2007 for seeking the best .INFO websites by Afilias, the registry operator for the .INFO domain. The 2007 and 2008 Awards were conducted in Germany only. Due to their popularity and success, Afilias decided to expand the program internationally in 2009. Now in 2010, this awards program is open to all .INFO site owners anywhere around the world. The call for entry opens on August 10, 2010 and runs through September 10, 2010. You must register for a username and password to submit your site for the .INFO Awards.

Submissions will be evaluated by a panel of experts in the fields of website design and media based on the following criteria:

  • Presentation of content
  • Functionality of the site
  • Design
  • Usability
  • Originality

The short list will be published on October 5, 2010. And then the public can vote on their favorite .INFO site on the short list from October 5, 2010 until November 2, 2010. The top 3 of winners of 2010 .INFO Awards will be awarded for a cash prize up to $7,500. If you’ve developed a .INFO site, you may have to act fast though to submit your site to .INFO Awards, since the submissions end on September 10. Don’t have a .INFO site? You can still participate when voting opens on October 5, and one lucky voter will even win an iPad.

Do you like this post?

 Subscribe free via RSS, or by Email to get updates.